I did it!

I actually went there. I actually did it. After spending a significant amount of time last night looking for used guitars, as well as prices of new ones, I have taken the decision to buy myself my very first, very own electric guitar. I want to do this now – I want to properly learn how to play the guitar. And for that… I need one. And what makes me happy motivates me.

Remember how I mentioned my cousin previously? He had the wits to NEVER stop playing the guitar ever since he started to learn it at age 15, like me… and is now something like a God when it comes to this instrument. His house is full of guitars, he is an expert player, and a fountain of knowledge. (Basically what I could have been. Had I, like him, never stopped playing.) I asked him for advice on the matter this morning, and he suggested I buy a new one, not something used, as I had planned. I did some extensive research during the day and eventually settled on a Fender Squier Bullet Strat – the beginner’s version of a “real” Fender Stratocaster. It’s extremely affordable, and if I end up giving up on playing again in the foreseeable future, the financial damage will be negligible. Also, it has some really good reviews, all of them claiming that it’s actually a good sounding guitar, a lot of value for little money. It suits my needs and my wallet perfectly.

But since a guitar alone won’t do I also ordered a shoulder strap, 2 wall mounts (- one for the guitar, one for my bass), an A-stand, some new picks, and an iRig 2 for this new endeavor. Here’s to hoping that I will be able to pick up my new baby from the store tomorrow.


Yousician Updates: So far, this is nice and easy. No challenge yet, and I played as far as my free minutes would let me today. Which wasn’t very far, admittedly. I am really considering to buy a subscription…

Leave a Reply

