Rhythm Guitar Level 2 – check.

I spent pretty much all day today practicing chords and my fingers hate me now.

Let me tell you: as ridiculous as it sounds, but my Level 2 certificate was hard earned. You’d think that E, Em, Am, C & G are easy… and they technically are… but still, Yousician gave me a hard effin’ time – mostly about my Em’s. Apparently, my ring finger tends to brush against the G string a lot when I play an Em, and then Yousician refuses to recognize it for what it tries to be, and marks it red. The same tends to happen a lot when I play an Am, only I haven’t figured out why on that one yet. It did get a bit better after plugging the iRig into my phone and playing like that instead – before I had played on my PC with the amp turned on, which also seems to have caused issues with the recognition of empty strings. Does anybody experience anything similar?

I cannot tell you the amounts of time I have played and replayed the simplest Level 2 songs, feeling like a total idiot for not being able to get them right. I still didn’t manage to gold star some of them, try as I might. I will tackle this tomorrow, have to sleep on this for a night.

My fingers are really sore today, which actually makes me feel quite giddy: they remind me that I have been doing a lot of work today, and I can now feel the aftermath. Makes me feel accomplished. And it made me realize how little I really know about playing chords… my technique sucks, apparently, and I have tried really hard to fix that today. A lot of detail work still needs to be done in order to play my chords impeccably. Even at Level 2.


Play Strings (12/12) | Play Frets (24/24)Level 1 for all paths

LEAD | Start The Lead Guitar Path (51/51) | Fret Master (45/45) > Level 2 > Fretting Positions (39/39) | Fretboard Workout (39/39) > Level 3 > Four Fingers (in progress)

KNOWLEDGE | Start The Knowledge Path (24/24) | Ear Puzzles: Up & Down > Level 2 > The Musical Alphabet (in progress)

RHYTHM | Start The Rhythm Guitar Path (48/48) | Cowboy Chords 1: E, Em, Am (30/30) > Level 2 > Cowboy Chords 2: C (49/51) | Cowboy Chords 3: G (30/36) > Level 3 > Power Chords (in progress)

2 thoughts on “Rhythm Guitar Level 2 – check.

  1. CarolineNH says:

    I have been using both electric (PRS SE Custom 24) and acoustic (Breedlove Oregon Concert). I started with the acoustic 2 years ago so the electric is new to me. For me, I find the acoustic to be better for chords; the strings are easier for me to tell apart. I have had no end of problems getting accustomed to the thinner strings and thinner fretboard on the electric, but I *am* making headway (then again, I am a 50+ yr old grandmother and until 2 yrs ago, have never learned a musical instrument). I am following your journey with great interest! (Followed you in the app, too!)

    Like

    • Hey! Followed you back in the app – thanks! 🙂 Yeah, it’s quite a difference playing on an acoustic nylon string vs. on an electric. I do find the electric a bit easier, though… since I don’t have to press so hard on the strings in order to make them sound properly. But then again, the steel strings are SO much harder on the fingertips, even with less pressure applied.

      I wish you a sucessful journey as well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

